Back to My Roots

The other month I headed back to where it all began for me; I went back to my home town of Pismo Beach. Now there is nothing better for getting an overall perspectives on your life then going back to your roots and seeing how far you have grown. I was not there though for an adventure or to reflect on my life but I was there for a celebration; I was there to experience the age old tradition of marriage. Now you might not know this about me but traditions and family are very important to me; this is why I believe in traveling! I want to experience other cultures and their traditions, but before you can do that you have to go back to your roots and explore your own traditions. So I was in Pismo beach to see a good old fashion Catholic wedding which means a lot of family, great food and great beverage.

Welcome to Pismo Beach, California
Welcome to Pismo Beach, California

     Now who was getting married? A person who I am very close to and look up to dearly, my older sister, Amber, she is 10 years older then me and was a key factor in my decision to go to school in Europe. She gave me the spark of wanting to go abroad. When she was in her early 20’s she went and studied in France for a year and I remember telling myself I would do the same thing. Instead of France I went to Italy and instead of a year I went for four years. As a little brother who looks up to her older sister, of course I wanted to do the same thing and then do more. So before I move on I would like to congratulate my sister and her new husband, Taylor Buhl!

Happily Ever After
Happily Ever After

Earlier I said I did not go home to reflect on my life and how far I came but for a celebration. Well even though that is not what I came back for that is what ended up happening. Walking into my home town church like when I was younger made me appreciate that I was able to learn and explore the massive and beautiful cathedrals of Rome. Going back to the church with my family for my sisters wedding gave me a feeling I do not think any cathedral in the city of Rome could ever give me. The feeling of a proud little brother. To look out across the church and see all of our family and friends who came together to experience this important celebration. The ceremony was beautiful and emotional and made me proud of where I came from.

The Perfect Pair
The Perfect Pair
Taylor and Amber
Taylor and Amber’s Edna Valley Wedding

After the Ceremony we headed off to the hills of the Central Coast that are covered with beautiful vineyards. We headed off to the Edna Valley winery whose wine has filled my house and accompanied our family at our dinner table for the majority of my life. Now it accompanied our family with its picturesque  back round and its delicious wine at my sister wedding table. Wine and food have always accompanied our family traditions. It has always been a big influence in my life and it still does today. Everywhere I traveled I have always been interested in what a culture eats and what brings them together. Italians are well known for the food and wine. The long afternoon lunches and the large family gatherings that keep them so close. As I walked around the reception mingling with my family and getting to know my new family I realized that even in Rome I became a part of a family that enjoyed food, drinks and great music. Everywhere I go I realized I look for people who hold food and family close to their heart. It is the idea of bringing us all closer together. My sisters reception was beautiful and reminded me that no matter how far I travel and how much I learn I always go back to my roots even in my adventures. I look for great food, great drink and tradition that brings people together. That is what my sisters wedding and reception did for me. Brought me back to my roots and showed me why they call them roots because no matter how tall and large you grow you are still rooted to your own traditions that allowed you to grow in the first place.

Me dancing with my Mom
Me dancing with my Mom

   Now some of you might be asking where is the travel and the adventure of going back home? It is not a foreign place. Why are you not telling us about Greece, Turkey, Morocco? Well it’s quite simple, I feel like it was an adventure and a reminder of who I am and what is important to me. Pismo Beach has a lot to offer as a travel destination. It has all that you want in a small beach town in California, beautiful weather, great beaches, majestic California hills, and friendly people.

Beautiful Edna Valley
Beautiful Edna Valley

   Now my sister’s wedding  took place on 4th of July weekend which is a big deal in my town. Tourist from all over California come to celebrate the 4th in Pismo. They come here to relax and take part in the festivities going on. I recommend anybody who decides to travel to California to spend a couple days on the central coast. We have great food, great wine, and a very relaxing way of life. You can escape the noise and the pollution of the big cities and get to experience a whole new style of California. A place where beach and country come together.  So for me it may not be a new adventure but for you it could be. I had a wonderful vacation back in my hometown. I did a little surfing, celebrating, drinking, and relaxing all while being around Family. So for all of you travelers out there remember sometimes there is no place like home.

The Pismo Lighthouse Suites
The Pismo Lighthouse Suites

Related Posts:

Travel While You're Young
Travel While You’re Young
Why We Travel
Why We Travel

3 thoughts on “Back to My Roots

Leave a Reply

