My Favorite Time To Travel: Fall

Sunset over Piata Unirii in Bucharest
Sunset over Piata Unirii in Bucharest
Beautiful Fall Leaves at Budapest Castle
Beautiful Fall Leaves at Budapest Castle

Fall is my favorite time to travel.  There is something about the cooling of the weather, the leaves falling and the tourists deserting the monuments that makes fall my favorite time to travel.  Fall has always been my favorite season so its really no surprise that its my favorite time to travel.  My birthday is in the fall and I have always identified with the idea of fall ushering in a fresh start and new adventures.  It is always great to be somewhere new on my birthday and I am just glad it occurs in the fall.

Fall in Vienna
Fall in Vienna
A Fall Evening Over Prague
A Fall Evening Over Prague

Overall though (and my birthday aside) fall is a great time to travel; the fall months, especially October and November, are fringe months so often times prices are lower and temperatures are lower (in the northern hemisphere at least) but the weather is usually still really nice wherever you go.  In the southern hemisphere October and November are Spring so you are still in the fringe season before the heat really sets in.  Also prices are lower all around, Alex and I have been able to visit some pretty amazing places because the prices were lower in the fall.

John Lennon Wall in Prague
John Lennon Wall in Prague
Alex and I went to see the White Tower in Thessaloniki and then spent our time in a cafe along the harbor drinking coffee.
Alex and I went to see the White Tower in Thessaloniki and then spent our time in a cafe along the harbor drinking coffee.
Delirium warms the soul in the fall, especially their delirium red, the best cherry beer in the world
Delirium warms the soul in the fall, especially their delirium red, the best cherry beer in the world

Traveling in fall also means that you can start to see cities turn on their Christmas charm.  Many European cities have Christmas Markets that go up in November with amazing local food and winter desserts.  They also will have some type of warm delicious alcoholic beverage such as mulled wine and spiked chocolate.  One of the best things about travel in fall is the warm cinnamon and sugar rolled bread you can find all over Eastern Europe, it happens to pair very nicely with palinka too.

The Beginning of the Christmas Markets in Budapest.  They served this amazing Hungarian pizza there and they had sour cream on the side for it!  They don't have sour cream in Italy so this was a big thing for me!
The Beginning of the Christmas Markets in Budapest. They served this amazing Hungarian pizza there and they had sour cream on the side for it! They don’t have sour cream in Italy so this was a big thing for me!
This bread was by far my favorite thing that I ate in Eastern Europe.  I had it in Budapest where it was cooked over a fire and then rolled in cinnamon and sugar.  I had it in Romania and Prague as well.  I could literally have had one everyday, it was so delicious!
This bread was by far my favorite thing that I ate in Eastern Europe. I had it in Budapest where it was cooked over a fire and then rolled in cinnamon and sugar. I had it in Romania and Prague as well. I could literally have had one everyday, it was so delicious!
My Favorite Dessert being cooked over the fire at the Budapest Markets
My Favorite Dessert being cooked over the fire at the Budapest Markets

My favorite travel photos to take are in the fall.  The changing colors of the leaves combined with the softening sunlight can produce stunning photos even for amateurs like me.  Fall is a magical time of year when the weather cools down, you can explore a city by yourself, the leaves change and it becomes perfectly acceptable to spend your time in a pub when you get a little chilly.  If you have not had a chance to explore a new place in the fall I would go now.  Go explore somewhere new in the fall!

Hanging out in Vienna with the Elephant
Hanging out in Vienna with the Elephant
Feta Stuffed Peppers in Thessaloniki, Fall means I can eat whatever I want
Feta Stuffed Peppers in Thessaloniki Fall means I can eat whatever I want
Fall in Romania from the Train
Fall in Romania from the Train
Pumpkin Soup in Budapest aka the best soup in the world.  I don't even like pumpkins and I had this soup twice while I was in Budapest
Pumpkin Soup in Budapest aka the best soup in the world. I don’t even like pumpkins and I had this soup twice while I was in Budapest
Stuffed Cabbage at Caru' cu Bere in Bucharest, which is one of the oldest beer houses in Bucharest dating back to 1879
Stuffed Cabbage at Caru’ cu Bere in Bucharest, which is one of the oldest beer houses in Bucharest dating back to 1879
Sunset over St. Stephens in Budapest
Sunset over St. Stephens in Budapest
The Fall Leaves are very complimentary to my photography skills
The Fall Leaves are very complimentary to my photography skills

If you liked this article about our fall travels check out some of the other places we have been to in the fall:

The Ruin Pubs of Budapest
The Ruin Pubs of Budapest
The Train to Romania
The Train to Romania
Alex in Amsterdam
Alex in Amsterdam
A Night with the Green Fairy
A Night with the Green Fairy
The Old Byzantine Walls in Thessaloniki
The Old Byzantine Walls in Thessaloniki

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Time To Travel: Fall

  1. I have never made it to Prague, now I put it on my holiday list for next year. 🙂 The “Sunset over St. Stephens” shot is my favorite of your shots. And did I mention that autumn is my favorite time to travel too 🙂

    Like

  2. YES!!! Totally agree with you on your favorite dessert. I don’t know what it’s called in Budapest, but in Czech it’s “trdelnik,” and I LOVE IT. I finally found ONE Christmas market kiosk in Munich that makes it, and in German they’re called “Baumkuchen,” which means “tree cake.” Whatever you call them, they’ve so delicious 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

