New Year, New Adventures

2013 brought us amazing things, such as the sunrise over Angkor Wat.  It has been a dream of mine to go since before I can rememeber
2013 brought us amazing things, such as the sunrise over Angkor Wat. It has been a dream of mine to go since before I can rememeber

So it is 2014 (can’t believe it’s already halfway through January!) and while I generally don’t dwell on the change that happens with the bringing of a new year, this year there are definitely changes in progress.  Alex and I are making the move to wine country in the next month, which is pretty exciting!  I am excited as it means no longer commuting for a hour and a half to get to work and Alex is excited because it means living in a small town.  With moving comes responsibility however, as my job moves from part time to full time which may cut down on traveling time.  The desire to go and explore the world is insanely strong right now even though we just got back from Asia but no one ever said that traveling would stop wanderlust.  We all know it’s the opposite.  So Alex and I have a dilemma which must be solved for 2014, how do we keep traveling while balancing full time jobs?

Yes we have been to Hogwarts.  I received my owl when I was 11.  Didn't you?
Yes we have been to Hogwarts. I received my owl when I was 11. Didn’t you?

Everyone who has embraced travel as a lifestyle eventually has to face this question.  Do you continue on working full time and squeeze travel in or do you cast off the traditional life and take off and see the world?  Alex and I wrote a little while back about why we travel and how travel keeps us young; it still holds true but it would be naive not to notice that my life is starting to head a slightly different direction.  I actually enjoy my job, shocking I know.  To be fair, its not a 9-5 job, I get to drink wine and throw parties; I have a tough life.

Wine tasting in a barrel room in Tuscany.  I will attempt to recreate this activity as many times as humanly possible (without getting fired) when we move to Wine Country.  Life is tough, I swear!
Wine tasting in a barrel room in Tuscany. I will attempt to recreate this activity as many times as humanly possible (without getting fired) when we move to Wine Country. Life is tough, I swear!
Drinking wine in Pienza, considered the most ideal Rennaisance town when built by Pope Pius II.  The Rennaisance would appreciate how much wine we tried in this town
Drinking wine in Pienza, considered the most ideal Rennaisance town when built by Pope Pius II. The Rennaisance would appreciate how much wine we tried in this town

 

I can see that this job won’t be forever though.  Travel is the one constant in our lives; Alex and I make almost all decisions based on how it will affect our travels.  However, this may not be the year for long term travel, I actually see us traveling more short term, seeing more of America.  We love to eat and drink and talk to people and we can do this in America as easily as anywhere else in the world, or perhaps even easier.  So if your town has good food, well we may show up.

Kabobs!!! Kabob man was our favorite food in Istanbul!
Kabobs!!! Kabob man was our favorite food in Istanbul!
My Kabob!  Not yours!
My Kabob! Not yours!

We have a few trips we are going to take for weddings and graduations and those will be taking us to places we have never been or only seldom visited.  It may be a little different than what we have done before but I am excited for the changes that are coming this year.   So expect more updates on the small towns of wine country (and probably a lot of pictures of us drinking wine), our experiences in San Diego, hopefully Disneyland (one of our favorite places), LA, Portland, Seattle and Spokane.  And of course we will never keep writing about our past adventures because we love sharing the places that we have been and what we learned about the people, the culture and the food. (We love eating!)

Not sure my soccer hooligan outfit will fit in Wine Country
Not sure my soccer hooligan outfit will fit in Wine Country
We like to eat and play with our food.  Some of the best little shrimpies we had in Croatia
We like to eat and play with our food. Some of the best little shrimpies we had in Croatia
So here is Cheers to 2014 and where ever it make take it!  We hope that you have a wonderful year full of travel and life!
So here is Cheers to 2014 and where ever it make take it! We hope that you have a wonderful year full of travel and life!

Leave a Reply

