My Growing Collection of Old Books

My Book Collection
My Book Collection

Travel souvenirs have always been tricky for me;  I always wanted to pick something up from each place I went but never really liked any of the typical souvenirs. I never was into collecting shot glasses, I was always annoyed that I had to worry about them breaking before I even got home. Key chains seemed pointless because you only really need one. Overall I just assumed I wasn’t a souvenir person, my photos would have to be enough. Then everything changed when I stumbled upon an old book stall in Budapest selling books in Hungarian and many other languages.

The beginings of my book collection, the blue book with the little boy on it is an Italian children's book written in Hungarian and the "How We Travel" book is a school book for children from the 1920s.  The underground subway in New York was a big deal then
The beginings of my book collection, the blue book with the little boy on it is an Italian children’s book written in Hungarian and was the first book I picked up.  The “How We Travel” book is a school book for children from the 1920s. The underground subway in New York was a big deal then.  Then I picked up Harry Potter in Split, Croatia; a children’s book collection would not be complete without Harry Potter.

I have always loved books and collecting old books seemed a perfect fit. The books would always remind me of the places I had been and I always try to choose children’s books because they are shorter which means lighter and easy to pack. I absolutely love my growing collection of old books and occasionally new. I had an especially hard time finding old books/any books in the local language in Asia. But it’s a fun and eclectic collection which I can easily display and reminisce with. I absolutely love my copy of Tom Sawyer from Greece and my Ottoman dictionary from Turkey. Every book has memories and places associated with it and that makes these books more precious to me than any other souvenir.

Picked up "Alice in Wonderland" from a stall just outside this park in Bucharest
Picked up “Alice in Wonderland” from a stall just outside this park in Bucharest

Travel souvenirs should be just that, something that triggers memories and feelings of places that you have been too. Books have always been a part of my life and I’ve spent a good chunk of my life in bookstores, I even briefly worked at Barnes and Noble during a Christmas season in college. Travel souvenirs should be something personal for you that remind you of your travels and your past explorations. For me that was books, what have you collected along your travels?

Guide to France and "Alice in Wonderland" in Romanian
Guide to France and “Alice in Wonderland” in Romanian

One thought on “My Growing Collection of Old Books

Leave a Reply

