We Have Been Nominated for the Liebster Award, Twice!

Liebster

We are so excited to announce that we have been nominated for not one but two Liebster Awards!!  It has been a good week for awards!  We would like to thank Dave from Cook Sip Go and Stefania from The Italian Backpacker.

 

The point of the Liebster Award is to share something of yourself but also to share other blogs that you love too, it is all about sharing and creating a community of bloggers which we are totally on board with.  To participate in the Liebster Award you must do a few things:

1. Thank the person or people who nominated you

2. Answer their 10 questions

3. Nominate 10 blogs

4. Ask the blogs you nominated 10 questions.

 

Since we were nominated twice this week we thought we would combine them and answer both of their questions and then nominate 10 blogs, so here it goes!

 

Dave at Cook Sip Go asked:

  1. What is the first travel you remember?

Ashley: When I was really young my parents took my sister and I on a cruise to Mexico.  I clearly remember jumping on the bed and wearing a corona hat.

Alex: My First travel memory is when my Parents and I went on a tent camping trip along the coast of California.

 

  1. Which destination is at the top of your travel bucket list?

Ashley: Machu Picchu has been on my travel bucket list for probably forever.  When I was little my parents gave me a mini archaeology set and I was able to dig up the remains of Machu Picchu, I have been obsessed ever since.

Alex: Well it really is not that exciting but Japan. I really want to go to Japan and go to baseball games, eat sushi and, drink Saki. I am total nerd about the country and excited to experience their culture first hand.

 

  1. Where did you experience your most memorable meal on the road and what was it?

Ashley: Perhaps the most memorable meal we had while on the road was at this little french bistro in Paris.  I had been there about 2 years before and it was one of my favorite meals in Paris but I was not sure what the restaurant was called or exactly where it was.  Amazingly enough I was able to retrace my steps and find it again.  I then had the best sea bass there!

Alex: Oh this is a hard question because I have had so many good meals in my life. I don’t know if I can just pick one restaurant. one of the best was when I was in Paris with my parents and we ate at the Michelin rated restaurant Le Cinq. It was fine dining at its best and it was just overwhelmingly impressive.

 

  1. Who is your favorite travel writer/blogger?

Ashley:  One of my favorite travel writers is Chuck Thompson, writer of “Smile While You’re Lying” which is a hilarious travel memoir about Chuck’s beginnings and experiences as a travel journalist.

Alex: This might be cliche but my favorite is  Anthony Bourdain. I love his shows as well as his books. He is witty and would love to sit down and have a beer with him.

 

  1. Even though new destinations are fun, what is one place you could return to again and again?

Ashley:  I could return to Crete again  and again.  It is such a fantastic island with amazing history and the friendliest people.  Plus the food and the beaches are wonderful.

This is Matala on the south coast of Crete.  The rock is covered with manmade caves from the neolithic period and in the 1960s they were completely overrun by hippies
This is Matala on the south coast of Crete. The rock is covered with manmade caves from the neolithic period and in the 1960s they were completely overrun by hippies

Alex: Paris, Paris, and Paris. I love Paris! The style, the food, the wine, the culture, and just everything about it. I love Paris!

The Sacre Coure dominates the skyline of Montmartre
The Sacre Coure dominates the skyline of Montmartre

 

  1. What’s the most interesting wildlife experience you’ve had on your travels?

Ashley: I have not had too many wildlife experiences out on the road since up till now I was mainly focused on cities however the monkeys at Batu Caves in Kuala Lumpur were devilish little bastards stealing everyone’s souvenirs.

 

Alex: When I was in Morocco I was able to have a giant monkey with huge fangs put on my shoulder. I was just walking through the square and and this man put a huge monkey on my shoulder. took a photo of me and then asked me for money. I did not care though. The monkey was awesome even though I thought it would bite my face off.

He loves fanged scary looking monkeys too
He loves fanged scary looking monkeys
  1. What’s one place you’ve traveled to and have no desire to return? Why?

Ashley: Patong was not my favorite place to visit; I cannot say I won’t go back but I definitely was not in tune with the party atmosphere of the town.  Rawaii, in southern Phuket, was more my speed with empty beaches and fantastic food.

Alex:I don’t really think I have a place I would not go back to. I am always willing to give a place another try. Patong is definitely on the bottom if I had one.

 

  1. What is your favorite restaurant in your hometown?

Ashley:  That is a tough question because there are so many good ones!  My favorite though is Yanni’s Greek Cafe, it has the most traditional Greek food I have had since being back home.

Alex: Yomatos Sushi Bar. I love this place, I go there every time I go home. I love sushi and they make the best I have ever had. It a small local place and the owners are awesome. You will always find me at the bar of the restaurant.

 

  1. What is the most athletic feat you’ve accomplished while traveling?

Ashley:  Does walking to the bar count?  No seriously I used to climb Vesuvius a lot for work but then I got lazy and started letting the tourists go alone…. So that is sort of an athletic feat.

Vesuvius

Alex: 60 mile canoe and portaging trip across the boundary waters in Minnesota It is just beautiful country i have been. It was a tough one though but it was worth it.

 

10. Have you ever attempted to cook at home a dish you first tried while traveling? If so, what was the result?

Ashley: I have ended up bringing a few recipes home.  I spent sometime in the French countryside and learned how to make the most delicious zucchini, all you need is butter, zucchini, garlic and parsley.  So simple but so good.

Alex: No not really, I am an eater but not really a cook. I am a really good sue chef and help Ashley as much as I can.

 

See more f Dave’s blog and his answers to his Liebster Award questions at: http://cooksipgo.com/liebster-award/#sthash.fLkjpTXR.dpuf

 

Stefania at The Italian Backpacker asked:

1. Why did you start a travel blog in the first place and what do you wish to accomplish?

Alex: We started the blog to inspire people to travel. We both believe that traveling makes the world a better place. Our goal is for the blog to support our travels and to keep us traveling.

Ashley: We love travel and we noticed that a lot of people didn’t believe that they could be traveling just like us.  We started our blog to encourage and show people that travel is doable on any budget and it is worth more than anything in the world.

 

2. How would you define your style of travelling?

Alex: Winging it and lots of eating. I eat everything I can find when I am traveling. I like to dive into a culture’s cuisine.

Ashley: Food definitely plays a huge role in our travels and I also choose places based on their history.  I studied archaeology so I am obsessed with ancient ruins.  I only took about a 1000 photos at Angkor Wat….

2013 brought us amazing things, such as the sunrise over Angkor Wat.  It has been a dream of mine to go since before I can rememeber
2013 brought us amazing things, such as the sunrise over Angkor Wat. It has been a dream of mine to go since before I can rememeber

 

3. What kind of things excite you the most while travelling?

Alex: FOOOOOD!!!!! I think you can tell from my last answer, I love exploring the world of food. I love street food. I just go running for it.

Alex is ready to chomp down on his scorpion and cockroach
Alex is ready to chomp down on his scorpion and cockroach

Ashley: Nerding out… I love historical sites and museums.  I enjoyed giving tours of the Borghese Gallery twice to three times a week.  Just see Bernini’s sculptures that often was amazing!

 

4. Are there things that annoy you while traveling?

Alex: One thing that really bothers me, are people who complain in security lines. Take a chill pill and go through the line . It drives me crazy.

Ashley:  I occasionally can get annoyed by people who can’t figure out public transportation and won’t accept help.  There is nothing worse than standing behind someone who refuses to listen to you about how to purchase metro tickets.

5. Is there a destination you could keep going back to countless times?

Alex: Thessaloniki, Greece and Paris, France! The Food, think of the food man.!

Ashley:  Greece.  It was the first place that I spent a significant amount of time in and I loved every minute of it and I love going back as much as possible.

6. Do you ever travel alone? If yes, how does that make you feel? And if no, would you ever consider doing that?

Alex:I moved to Rome when I was 18 and it was the first time I had done anything truly alone. I like having people with me to share an experience with. I would travel alone but would probably make friends a long the way and travel with them.

Ashley:  I moved to Rome on my own after college and traveled a bit before I got to Rome.  I absolutely loved traveling on my own.  I could join up with a group or go off on my own whenever I wanted which was so nice.  It was wonderful to be able to do whatever I desired without worrying about what others in a group may want to do.

7. Do you believe in the distinction between traveler and tourist?

Alex: Now and then but most of the time I don’t care what people do, we all travel in our own way.  Sometimes I just like being a tourist because its fun and different.

Ashley:  Occasionally.  I don’t think we should really be separating ourselves though.  Everyone travels differently and sometimes what others do may seem insane to you but its how they travel.  Alex and I are a weird mix of budget backpackers and splurging on great dinner and drinks.  Everyone is different and we all have a little traveler and tourist in us.

8. Do you ever feel compelled to do certain things, like a particular day trip or activity that is always mentioned as a “must-do”, while traveling?

Alex:I care foremost about great food. I don’t mind going to must see’s every now then.  Sometimes you just have too.

Ashley:  I do, especially since I am so obsessed with history.  I always like to visit the “must-do” places because most of the time they are important to the country culturally and helps me to better understand the history and culture of the country we are visiting.

9. Is there a country or a city that you have no interest in visiting?

Alex: Not really I’m pretty much up to anything. I love traveling and enjoy learning about different cultures.

Ashley:  I don’t think there is a country I have no interest in visiting.  I am absolutely terrified to visit China and I am not sure I will totally like it, but what is travel without pushing yourself?

10. What role does photography have in your blog?

Alex: We love ph0tos but I like a good balance and a mixture of pictures and writing. It is good to keep things changing every now and then.
Ashley:  I love taking the photos for the blog and in the past year I have learned so much about photography because of our blog.  From photoshop to lenses, photography is becoming an all consuming habit.

And now for the Blogs we are nominating:

LiebsterAward_3lilapples

 

One Foot in Europe – http://onefootineurope.wordpress.com/

Ellis from Ellis Goes on Holiday – http://ellisgoesonholiday.wordpress.com/

Jeanette and James from Traveling Honeybird – http://travelinghoneybird.com/

Everyday Adventures – http://everydayadventures365.com/about/

Alive and On the Road – http://aliveandontheroad.wordpress.com/

Constance from Foreign Sanctuary – http://foreignsanctuary.wordpress.com/

Jennifer from I Put My Life on a Shelf – http://iputmylifeonashelf.com/

Elena from Gone with the Backpack – http://gonewiththebackpack.blogspot.com/

And now for the questions…..

 

We can’t wait to hear your answers!

 

1. What was the moment you decided to make traveling an important part of your life?

2. If you had a chance to choose a country to be in born in besides your own, what would it be?

3. What is your best hidden secret? (For travel, accommodations, whatever….)

4. Are there any books or movies which inspired you to travel to certain countries?

5. What was your worst accommodations while traveling?

6. What is your biggest “Oh F***k” moment while traveling?

7. What is the best lesson you learned from traveling?
8. Have you ever had a moment where a country has surprised you and completely changed your perspective of it?
9. What is your favorite vacation spot (the place you go to relax)?

10. What has travel taught you?

12 thoughts on “We Have Been Nominated for the Liebster Award, Twice!

  1. Aw, thank you so much for the nomination! It really made my day! I will get working on the questions soon. I am in China and internet is so slow when using a VPN that I just can’t take it any longer.

    Which brings me to: Ashley, don’t be scared of China!! I am here alone and I am honestly surprised at how smooth it is going

    Like

  2. Loved these answers! Also, that is a great shot of Alex doing some adventurous eating. Scorpions are high on my list of strange foods to try.

    Like

Leave a Reply

